After Prohibition, Gordon and Lil Johnson bought some land at the corners of Highways B&A and built a small tavern. They called it De-Shanty. It was a place for neighbors to get together and have some drinks and a good time. In 1946 Richard and Centa Eckart bought the tavern. Across the road was a dance hall that was for sale. Richard bought it moved it and attached it to the tavern. The older part was used for living quarters. The relocated dance hall became the dining room and bar.
The place became Dick’s Chippewa Inn. Dick and Centa operated it until 1959 when they sold it to Anna and Otto Willems. Otto was a pastry chef from the “Old Country”. He and Anna owned a bakery in Chicago for several years and moved to Hayward to retire. Retirement became too boring and Anna asked her niece Karen and husband Gerhard to come to Hayward to help operate the restaurant. Gerhard, who had been a head waiter in Germany, worked at Berghoff’s in Chicago at the time. The four of them decided to add a new bar to the existing building in order to gain a larger dining area. After extensive remodeling, new tables and chairs were added to spruce up the place.
The menu now included a variety of German foods. Among them were Wiener Schnitzel, Pot Roast & Potato Pancakes, Pork Hocks, and Sauerbraten as well as Apple Strudel and Strawberry Schaumtorte all of which are still served today.
After 35 years Karen & Gerhard sold “The Chip” to Tom & Debbie Landgraf. New items were added to the menu and “The Chip” is now known as the place to go for the best steak around. An absolute “must” to see is the special area in the back dining room where two of the most beautiful dollhouses are on display. Made by Debbie’s mom for her granddaughter Amanda they are breathtaking in every detail.